As soon as I saw the Senior Team challenge for Papertrey this month, I knew I wanted to participate.   I was interested in what I could come up with that would make a “younger looking” card perhaps for my students who are mostly teenagers.  I think I rose to my own little challenge as well as also making a nice little gift to accompany it.  It was a simple iPod cozy that I made using felt and hand stitching with embroidery floss all the way around.  I think for a non-sewer it didn’t turn out too badly at all!  SO…if I am a bad sewer, I am sure you can do this!  I actually didn’t even measure..(GASP!)  Instead I used the iPod as my guide and pinned the felt all the way around so I had clear guidelines, making sure it would be a snug fit.   I then left one side much  longer and cut it with my pinking shears when I figured out my desired stopping place, to give it a sweet little finished edge.  Turned it inside out and added a hole on the top using my cropadile for the cord and viola!  A sweet iPod cozy!  Add a little felt button and a band of matching cardstock and stamps and I ended up with a nice gift ensemble! 

So I took the idea of felt and wanted to incorporate it in my card!  I wanted the card to have a more “scrappy” look, so I used smaller elements such as the little bird from the “Believe” set to help tie it all in.  I wanted the picture inside the tag to be a magnet so it could easily be put on a fridge, well, because I just LOVE fridge pictures!!  I just adore going into other people’s houses and looking at all of their pictures on the fridge as well.  It is just so nice!  I used the Basic Grey magnets for the card, making sure to use the positive magnet on the back of the picture, and the negative side on the tag!  I chose to tilt my picture of the girls a little bit, but you can put it any direction you like!  That is the beauty with using a magnet!  I hope you like this!  Don’t forget to take a look at what picture perfect things the Senior Team did with this challenge!  Most importantly though…what will YOU do?

Debbie Olson

Lisa Johnson

Heather Nichols

Lauren Meader

Michelle Wooderson

Supplies:

Stamps: Made of Snow {Snowman}, Believe {Bird & Sentiment}

Paper: Stampers Select White, Pure Poppy, Spring Moss, Holiday Vintage Prints {Polka Dots}

Ink: Adirondack Pitch, White Chalk Ink

Ribbon:  Spring Moss Swiss Dot Satin

Other: Copics, Basic Grey Magnets, Swiss Dot Cuttlebug Embossing Folder, Large Eyelet (Stampin’ Up!) Red Line tape Felt Button from Buttons Galore and More, Nestability Tag, embroidery floss, large eyed needle, pins.

