I had such a nice time making these Christmas tags with Emma yesterday.  I taught her how to clear emboss and then we both used the chalk to color around the images.  I already had the tags from my local scrapbooking store that I got on sale because they were going out of business.  So it was a nice, fast after school activity we could do together.  This way when Christmas does come, we will have a bunch of tags for bags for friends!  I kind of like the bright colors.  It makes it Merry and Bright!!  Sp Sophie didn’t feel left out, I also did a special project with her.  Her room right now is sort of in flux.  When we put our addition onto the house, we had to re-wire the entire house because it was all knob and tube.  Unfortunately her room got the brunt of the damage when it came to having to remove baseboards for access.  This didn’t go over too well for me, because that used to be our room before the addition, so it was all newly painted at the time and both John and I are completely festidious when it comes to painting!!  So her room needs a lot of things right now.  It needs to be spackled along the baseboards, as well as a new paint job and new carpet.  She has hardwoods right now, but they are not too nice, although original pine.  So when I moved the trundle bed down into her room she was desperate to put something fun on the wall.  I quietly took down the incredibly huge…BLACK Beatles wall scarf (she thought she was so cool, because she loves the Beatles…but it is so ugly on her wall!)  As well as her favorite little Jesus plaque.  I am serious.  It is a little picture of Jesus…really cheesy…and she LOVES it.  AW…I can’t take away her Jesus!!!!!!!  I just took him down for now…Jesus was a little out of scale on that big wall!  So…although I am not 100% finished with this, you will get the idea!  I made templates for butterflies to make a cardboard template (I used the cardboard from the 12×12 packs of PTI patterned paper) and then used that to trace out the butterflies on the 12×12 paper.  I will then put them on the wall and they will appear to be flying.  I also made two more size templates.  On a different wall over her new extra bed, I want to buy a large canvas at the craft store.  I will leave it white, but then use my 8×8 or 6×6 templates to make smaller butterflies and line them up in rows on the canvas for over her bed!!  If you wanted…you could paint the canvas your favorite color and use the new papertrey vellum cardstock for the butterflies!  How beautiful would THAT be??!!  So here are my pics and three templates for you!

 

12×12 (flip over to trace the opostite side of the butterfly)

 

8×8 size

6×6 size

 

notice I did not use the antennae on my project.  You may want to not use them or use something in place of them as they may be hard to cut out.  It is YOUR choice!

PROJECTS:

Stamps: Rustic Snowflakes Papertrey Ink {Pinefeather Press}

Ink: Versamark, clear embossing powder, chalks

Ribbon: PTI Lemon Tart, Spring Moss, Lavendar Moon, Aqua Mist {all Grosgrain}

 Patterned Paper for Butterflies: Papertrey Ink

